Long-time lurker introducing himself...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DevDoc

Hi All,

Apologies for not doing this sooner, but I have had a ton of fun (vicariously) soaking in the wisdom offered on this site.

I've hesitated to introduce myself earlier because I'm a relative noob when it comes to piloting larger vessels, and until recently, it was just fun to follow your journeys. However, now that I'm approaching retirement I know my fondest memories are of being on the water when I could. At age 62, and in good health, I've been hoping I could spend at least 10-15 years trying to recapture the life on the water that I've only tasted briefly. It's kind of embarrassing to admit my lack of experience to such a salty crowd, but I'm looking for guidance. I'm aware that there is much to master, but I have an aptitude for learning and am quite handy with DIY.

I keep thinking that maybe I'm not crazy to imagine a cruising life for a decade or so. I've taken seamanship courses and such but lack practical experience. Any thoughts how I might get started? Or is this idea crazy-talk?

Thanks,

Jay

Welcome aboard, Jay. If you weren't already crazy, you wouldn't be on this site in the first place, so that ship has sailed.

Where in the world is Harrison?

Welcome aboard - we jumped in last year - retired 60 somethings - not that much time to soak it all in. While I can wish we grew up with boating in our blood - that simply wasn't the case - so no time to lose. There are so many variables - on the one hand - being able to narrow things down is useful - however - the main advice I can give is ... get out and look at boats for sale - whatever type - get down there - get ON BOARD - take pictures - go home and study. For us - though we had narrowed our search way down - each time on board changed our perspective...