Older Boat Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mdginc

Newbie here, We are looking at buying a 1992 Fleming 55'. She has a rebuilt engine in 2015 and appears to be in great shape. In fact she is beautiful and ticks all of our boxes. Are we crazy to even consider a boat of this age.
Thank you in advance for your comments.

You’re no crazier than the rest of us. I bought a 1993 aluminum trawler from the original owner, it was a custom build by Hike Metal Products. The first thing I started on was the hoses, fuel, water, etc. i started by replacing all of the engine fuel lines and bought the best I could find, most had to be fabricated to fit. They’re still in good shape. Then went around the engine room and tightened all the the bands that keep the hose attached from point a to b. Same goes for the water lines to the head and galley. If you do it yourself you’ll soon learn how everything works. Still learning 15 years later. Good luck, its been quite a ride.

Newbie here, We are looking at buying a 1992 Fleming 55'. She has a rebuilt engine in 2015 and appears to be in great shape. In fact she is beautiful and ticks all of our boxes. Are we crazy to even consider a boat of this age.

That's a new boat by comparison to mine from 1981 or my prior boat from 1977 -- both reliable cruisers serving their owners well.

How mechanically inclined are you? How well maintained was the Fleming? Things wear out over time. This does not mean newer boats are issue free.

Level of maintenance is usually more important than age. However, a 30 year old boat is going to have a fair amount of obsolete equipment that is no longer supported. Simply put, maintenance is going to be more frequent and more expensive on a 30 year old boat than a 10 year old boat.

Personally, I have no issues with owning an older boat but I do my own maintenance.

Welcome aboard the TF!