advice for new boater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pzindy

I am about 3 to 5 years from retirement. I have little to no boating experience, and do not currently own any boat. I have been reading about the Great Loop for many years and would like to try it shortly after retiring. But I would like to get some boat experience first. Preferably on a boat that I could enjoy locally first (now), then use for the loop later.

I live less than an hour away from Beardstown IL. So would probably start loop somewhere on Illinois River.

I have been considering something like a Rosborough RF-246 or a Ranger Tug 25. I like the idea of being able to store on trailer at home, but also understand this is smaller than a lot of 'loop' boats.

I would like to hear from anyone who has done all or part of the loop on this type of boat. Also, would it be feasible to launch/retrieve from a trailer into lakes like Carlyle Lake, Lake Shelbyville or Rend Lake (all in IL) for this type of boat?

Take the USCG classes and lean the rules of navigation. I have seen many a new boater run aground not knowing how to read the channel markers.

Join a yacht club, members love to teach the new guys.

Rosborough 246 with outboard would be high on my list too. Yes it's small as is my 36 foot Willard. Would be a bit of glamping but definitely workable. Storing on a trailer definitely reduces cost and hassle of ownership and opens some doors in terms of repositioning the boat to skip areas of low interest.

Whatever you decide, the dream is definitely achievable and an interesting lifestyle. You'll meet as many people as you'd like, the majority of whom will have very interesting backgrounds.

Peter

I think you could easily ramp launch this type of boat just about anywhere.