GPS output Garmin 8612 for active fins

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

magna 6882

Guru
Vessel Name
Intrepid
Vessel Make
North Pacific/ NP-45 Hull 10
I am installing keypower active fins and the control box would like a gps signal from the nave unit. I do not understand nmea 0183 ,rs232,rs485 ect. It is my undertanding rs485 is nmea 0183 but i just dont get it.
I have two 8612 garmin units that have open ports on the back and i know its been done with the same equipment. Can one of you smart guys give me a hand with this problem.
Thanks
Rob

Attachments

• RC1006Updated.pdf
    593.5 KB · Views: 59
Last edited:
I have 3 Garmin 8616’s and they all output NMEA 2K.

First question is whether your Garmin has an 0183 output, or an RS-232 output. I have zero first hand experience with Garmin, but gather some of the older units us RS-232.

Assuming NMEA 0183, wire according to sheet 5 of the diagrams.

Garmin Tx+ (or TxA) goes to the white wire
Garmin Tx- (or TxB) goes to the green wire.

Garmin Rx+ and - can be left disconnected.

You will need to configure the Garmin to use that port, set the baud rate, and to send GPS sentences, but we also need to know which sentences.

Missing info:

1) You need to know which sentences the Stabilizer needs from the GPS. Those would be the sentences that you enable in the Garmin. This should be in the stabilizer documentation somewhere.

2) You need to know what baud rate the stabilizer is expecting, and you need to set the Garmin to that same speed. The standard with NMEA 0183 is 4800 baud. But AIS requires 38kb, and that same higher speed can optionally be used for other data. But most likely in this case it will be 4800.

I have 3 Garmin 8616’s and they all output NMEA 2K.

Only N2K? No 0183 outputs available? If that's the case then a converter will be required. Unless GPS info can be pulled from somewhere else.