Portable Electric Freezer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Capt. Rodbone

Vessel Name
SV Stella Polaris MV Sea Turtle
Vessel Make
1978 VanDine Gaff rigged schooner, 1978 Grand Banks Classic Trawler
Wife and I are about 1,500 miles into our Great Loop on our 78 Grand Banks. Classic. We don’t have nor want to install an inverter. We have a Northern Lights Lugger 753K generator. We are finding that our “freezer” only keeps things frozen when we are connected to shore power. When running our generator, even at regular and long intervals we are having to deal with what just thawed out controlling our meal choices.
It’s not as if we have “space galore” but I’m wondering if we should invest in a freezer that’s portable and 110 AC. I’m no electrician, which is probably evident. The misses says it would get the same amount of juice the freezer does, hence we’d face the same problem. I’m hopeful that something not 45 years old with newer technology would be more efficient.
If I’m correct on that, I’m hoping that some of you will reply with ‘ we had the same issue and bought an ‘XYZ’ and it’s made all the difference in the world”.

This does not make sense. What voltage is your generator putting out? Is your freezer some how not connected to your generator? Is your freezer being affected by the heat the generator creates?

A NL generator should be just as good and sometimes better than shore power.

I'm not familiar with the freezer in the GB . Is it a stand alone plug in, a split system with freezer plate?

If your generator is operating properly there should be no difference between shore power and genset. Leads me to belive your suffering from a power problem with the genset or how the freezer is getting power.

Is the freezer 110 and 12 volt. If so you may be running on the 12 volt automatically. I have an ac/dc freezer and it defiantly works better on ac.