Trawler Newbie in Chattanooga Tn

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TurtleIV

Hey I’m a trawler newbie. I graduated from a 32 sea ray amberjack to a 58 Hatteras LRC. Love to find some folks around Chattanooga, and other LRC owners!

Mike

Attachments

• IMG_6279.jpeg
    IMG_6279.jpeg
    166.5 KB · Views: 34
Welcome aboard. Congratulations on your new boat. The 58 LRCs are one of my favorite boats.

That is a beautiful boat, but kind of wasted being in Chattanooga. You need to get out and do some real voyaging!

But seriously, best of luck with the new boat. They really are pretty capable!

Thanks for the comments everyone. Totally agree the capability is wasted in Chattanooga, but it’s 15 mins from where we live currently. Planning on heading south semi-permanently within the next 6 months. We’re planning on taking it south this winter. Ten-Tom to the gulf then down to dry tortugas for a week or so then in the keys for a few weeks then up to Daytona area. Leave in in Florida insurance permitting till hurricane season or longer if I can find a good slip that won’t cost a kidney.

You have the LRC in Chattanooga? Can a person boat year round there?
The river goes to crap with logs and debris once the rain sets in, in jan. December through March is generally too cold for my liking in a house much less on the water. I’m planning on leaving out before winter sets in.

Let me know if you intend to pass through Panama City area, we have a couple of spare slips at the house that are 18 feet wide, 6-foot minimum draft, and 50-plust feet long. When we had a GB42 we took it across the Gulf a few times heading to places like the Dry Tortugas and such.