Triple clog in black water drain

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Abinition

In the black water drain system, everything stopped working; the black water pump won’t turn on, the manual lever downstream of that is pretty frozen solid and does not pump and finally the thru hull value downstream of that is also frozen (in the open position) and I’m afraid to exercise it for fear of breaking. Seems like some kind of obstruction has occurred that has all three means of pump-out non-operational.

I’m completely new to trawler maintenance. It’s a Nordhavn 2006 47. She is otherwise well maintained.

Ideas? Thanks.

Greetings,
Welcome aboard. The three issues may not be from the same cause but simply a lack of exercise of the valves. How freely do the rest of the valves/thu-hulls operate?

Last edited:
Is there a schematic of the head system in whatever documentation you have? Nordhavn usually provides decent information - there are a number of ways to plumb a head/tank/overboard discharge.

I'm a bit confused by the description - there is often a Y-Valve (sometimes two) to select outflow to holding tank, overboard, or pump out. Normally, the macerator pump is downstream of any Y-Valve and goes directly to the overboard thru-hull, but that's not the sequence you describe.

At any rate, first thing I would check is to do a diagram of the system and where the valves are located. Can you empty the holding tank via a pump out station? Is there power to the macerator pump?

Maybe others have ideas on frozen valves. BTW - is the midstream valve plastic or metal?

Sorry for your troubles.

Peter