42ft GB visual inspection and,,,,,

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Eli27

So just a quick question,,, or 2.

1st. I was looking at a 42gb in rhode island. Just from a visual standpoint i noticed the bottom had some odd bumps or lumps. They didnt look right to me but im a newbie at this kinda. On the bottom side forward of the end of keel between the keel and chine you could clearly see a slight bulge,, maybe 6-8in round. Nothing crazy but definitely there. Some smaller bulges i noticed hear and there but again nothing crazy. I tapped the hull and there wasnt much difference in sound. So question, does fiberglass do that? It being a GB and ive seen a few already it looked odd to me. Any ideas?

2nd. Possibly looking at a 36woodie. Lots of work has been done to this boat. I asked the owner last time through hulls have been changed and he said "both raw water for engines are original in very good condition and cooling water for ac pump also original and in very good condition". Original scares me! hypothetical, if i renewed all 5 (2 are capped off)(this will be a liveaboard and i really dont want to wake up wet) How much would a yard charge approximately? (If the wood around is still ok) I know they get pricey but i want to sleep comfortably.

thanks
eli

So just a quick question,,, or 2.