Electrical issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Barn Free

Good morning; I’m new to Trawler Forum so pardon any errors. We have a 1988 President (Taiwanese) 43’ motor yacht. Recently my husband changed the oil on both engines (2) ( 275 Hp diesel Ford Lehmans) as well as the generator. After completion, he started the engines to check oil pressure. Although it started right up, the starboard engine showed no oil pressure, less than 8 volts on the battery gauge and the fuel tank registered almost full although it only has about 1/4 of a tank. He’s crawled around the engine room checking connections, etc. but doesn’t see anything amiss but obviously something’s off.
Anyway, would appreciate any suggestions, trouble shooting ideas, etc.

Greetings,
Welcome aboard. Good possibility your husband "bumped" or disturbed some wiring. Great excuse to check and clean all electrical connections especially the ground wires. Some times it's that one hidden/difficult to get to spot that gets overlooked or one seemingly useless wire that gets removed (inadvertently).

If it were my boat, with a digital multi meter reading DC voltage, I would restart the engine and measure voltage at the battery and then at the gauge panel. If battery voltage is above 10 volts and the gauge panel meter is still at 8 volts, I would suspect a negative wire issue between the engine and the panel. Worth noting: starting the engine at the panel doesn't require the negative wire, only a positive wire for both the run circuit and the start circuit.

Ted

Hi;; he’s cleaned the connections and tried to look at all the places he was moving around; using a mirror for awkward, tight places but still no luck. He’s still poking around.
Thank you for the response and appreciate anymore suggestions.

What does the voltage at the battery measure?

Ted