Fuel Tank Mystery

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cardamam

Hi There! It's my first time posting to the forum, but I have run into useful advice here and hoping yall can help.

I have a 1977 44' Thompson Trawler -- had her about four years and am trying to go back and restore things and it is always a bit of a puzzle figuring out what is supposed to be there vs what unwitting previous owners have done.

My puzzle is this: I have two 400 gal tanks that are completely glassed off and have two spigots (kind of like a garden hose spigot and not like a proper ball valve) coming out of the bottom. I noticed a leak in the stb spigot, likely coming from the o-ring around the spindle on the handle. I decided to attempt a fix by replacing the whole thing, but first I needed to pump all the fuel in the stb tank into the port. I used an electric pump and could visibly see that the port tank was pretty full and the stb tank was pretty empty, but the last bit of fuel was taking much longer than it should have. To check the level in the tank I hooked a piece of clear tubing up to the spigot and opened the valve to get a visual. To my surprise, the stb was almost to the top, I checked the other side and same thing. What the heck?

There is no other access point to the tank and I'm assuming that these spigots must be connected behind the scenes somewhere. My suspicion is that there is a flow valve that closes when one tank is lower than the other and delivers fuel to both spigots from the more full tank. Is that assumption correct? Would there be a location on the boat where there should be more valves to adjust and maybe I don't have access to them because the previous owners hid it somehow?