What size windlass

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Luke1

I recently bought a 42 main ship trawler 1984 would like to know what size windlass to buy type and size , the boat didn’t come with one , and this is my first time owning a boat this big thanks

I think this is one where you work backwards..where are you going to be anchoring, how deep, what will your ground tackle be--size anchor and amount and size of chain that will make you comfortable in most/all situations. Then the weight you will be using the windlass to pull up. I would then get one a little larger than whatever I calculated...just because bigger is better..the American Way...right?

Since never had a windlass on the boat you also need to be mindful as to what you are attaching the windlass to...that structure has to be robust enough to hold the windlass down.

Ken above is correct, start with the anchor, then the rode and then look for a windlass that will handle it.

There are lots and lots of opinions on anchors and rodes, so I will give you mine. A 42' boat needs a substantial anchor, 50 lbs and one of the newer style Rocnas, Spades, Manson Supremes, etc. Select one with or without a hoop depending on your bow pulpit.

These anchors have an ultimate holding power of up to 5,000 lbs. If you really expect to anchor in rough conditions then I would select a chain to match, perhaps a 3/8" high tensile chain which has a maximum working load of about 5.000 lbs which matches the anchor holding.

If you only plan to anchor in good weather than you can get by with a 30-40 # anchor with 5/16" high tensile chain.

Pick the length of rode to suit your anchoring locations. At a minimum I would have 7 times the maximum water depth that you may anchor in.